Bangladesh Cricket

Bangladesh to face New Zealand tomorrow


New Zealand’s condition has always been a mystery for the Tigers as Bangladesh has never beaten the Kiwis on their home soil in the ODI format. In total Bangladesh got only one victory in New Zealand against the homes ides which too came during the last tour in New Zealand in test format – a version of cricket where the Tigers suffered the most. Now the big question is can they rub off that performance in the ODI series commencing tomorrow?

If we go for the head-to-head comparison, the Blackcaps and the Tigers faced each other in 42 different fixtures in ODI cricket. The Kiwis lead the stats as they have won 31 matches. They also got the most number of victories in both home and away matches. While they won 16 matches at their picturesque venues, they never left the ground with grief. Besides, they also secured 7 victories in Bangladesh and 8 on neutral grounds. They have also got a 2-0 series victory in Bangladesh before the World Cup which makes them the favourite side for this series.

On the other hand, Bangladesh have never won a single match in ODI format in New Zealand against the hosts. They have 10 victories in their bucket though – 8 at their home and 2 in a neutral venue. One of these came at England in 2017 during the last edition of the Champions Trophy when two senior players – Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah fought together after a rapid collapse of 33/4 in a vital 5th wicket partnership of 224 runs and got a crucial victory that helped the team to qualify for the first-ever semi-finals in an ICC event. Although the real question remains the same can Bangladesh snach a victory from the paw of the Black Caps?

First ODI: 17 December at 4:00 AM from University Oval

Second ODI: 20 December at 4:00 AM from Saxton Oval

Third ODI: 23 December at 4:00 AM from McLean Park

Bangladesh Squad for the ODI seriesNew Zealand Squad for the ODi series
Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Litton Das (wk), Anamul Haque (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Tawhid Hridoy, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Rakibul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Rishad Hossain.Tom Latham (c), Adi Ashok (not available for the first game), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (available fot the first match only), Will Young, Ben Sears


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button