Bangladesh CricketFeatureWorld Cup

Saikat: The First Bangladeshi Umpire in the World Cup

The ICC has released the list of match officials for the ODI World Cup to be held in India. Sharfuddaula Ibn Shaheed Saikat is the sole Bangladeshi umpire on this list of 20 individuals.

For the first time ever, a Bangladeshi umpire will officiate a match in the ICC Cricket World Cup.

The list of match officials published by the ICC includes members of the ICC Elite Panel, such as New Zealand’s Christopher Gaffney, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena, South Africa’s Marais Erasmus, England’s Michael Guh, India’s Nitin Menon, Australia’s Paul Rifle, England’s Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough, Australia’s Rod Tucker, West Indies’ Joel Wilson, Pakistan’s Ahsan Raja, and South Africa’s Adrian Holdstock.

Additionally, there are four umpires from outside the elite panel, namely Sharfuddaula Ibn Shahid Saikat of Bangladesh, Paul Wilson of Australia, Alex Wharf of England, and Chris Brown of New Zealand.

Moreover, New Zealand’s Jeff Crowe, Zimbabwe’s Andy Pycroft, West Indies’ Richie Richardson, and India’s Javagal Srinath will serve as match umpires for the upcoming World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button