Bangladesh Cricket

Bangladesh announce squad for Zimbabwe tour

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe series. Chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu named the 15-member T20I and 16-member ODI team after a long meeting at a hotel in the capital on Friday (July 22).

Star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is not going on this tour as he took leave earlier. Apart from this, two senior cricketers Mahmudullah Riyad and Mushfiqur Rahim have rested in the T20 series at the will of the board. Nurul Hasan Sohan is the new captain in the T20 tour of Zimbabwe due to Riyad’s absence.

After a long time, young opener Parvez Hossain Imon got a chance in T20. Earlier, he was called up to the national team against Pakistan but did not make his debut. This time, the U-19 World Cup winning batsman has returned to the national team in the absence of seniors.

Young pacer Hasan Mahmud got a chance to return from injury to the national team. He has been retained in both formats. Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim are in the ODI squad even though they are not in T20.

The Bangladesh team will fly to Zimbabwe on July 26. There, the Tigers will play 3 ODIs and T20Is in Harare. The tour will start with the twenty over format. Where the first T20 will be played on July 30.

T20 squad: Munim Shahriar, Enamul Haque Vijay, Liton Das, Afif Hossain Dhrub, Nurul Hasan Sohan (captain), Sheikh Mehdi, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Parvez Hossain Imon.

ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Enamul Haque Vijay, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain Dhrub, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Taijul Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button