FeatureInternationalWorld Cup

Australia and England announce their World Cup squads

The one-day World Cup is fast approaching, and teams are busy revealing their squads for this high-voltage tournament. Prior to today, the host countries, India and South Africa, announced their 15-man squads. However, the two most hotly anticipated teams of the tournament, England and Australia, have now unveiled their squads.

Last August, the five-time world champions were the first to announce an initial squad of 18 members, from which the final 15-member team has been selected.

Injured Glenn Maxwell has also been included in the announced squad by the Aussie Cricket Board. He is currently sidelined and not participating in the ODI series against India due to injury, raising concerns about his availability for the World Cup.

Australia’s announced squad comprises five all-rounders. Notably, Tanveer Sanga, Nathan Ellis, and Aaron Hardy were initially left out of the 18-man preliminary squad but are currently representing Australia in matches against South Africa.

Australia will commence their World Cup campaign with a match against host India on October 8.

Australia’s Team: Pat Cummins (captain), Steven Smith, Alex Carey, Josh English, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, and Mitchell Starc.

Meanwhile, the reigning champions, England, are also gearing up for the tournament. The deadline for submitting the team list was Tuesday, and England has sent their preliminary squad list to the ICC, cricket’s highest governing body, in accordance with the rules.

Assuming no injury issues arise, this is expected to be England’s final squad. Jos Buttler, the regular ODI captain, will lead the team.

England’s 15-member squad: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Gus Atkinson, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, and Mark Wood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button