Asia CupBangladesh CricketDomestic CricketFeature

Bangladesh suffers defeat in Super-4 opener

Bangladesh faced a disappointing loss to Pakistan, succumbing by seven wickets in the opening match of the Asia Cup Super Four. Captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and chose to bat at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on Wednesday, September 6. However, Bangladesh found themselves in a batting crisis, losing four wickets for a mere 47 runs.

In a turnaround, fifties from Shakib and Mushfiqur Rahim steadied Bangladesh’s innings. Despite their efforts, the team faltered towards the end, eventually getting bowled out for 193 runs in 38 overs and 4 balls.

Mushfiqur contributed 64 runs off 87 balls, while Shakib added 53 runs off 57 balls. For Pakistan, Haris Rauf claimed four wickets, and Naseem Shah secured three.

Pakistan’s openers, Imam-ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman, approached their chase of 194 runs cautiously. In the fourth over, Shoriful had a chance for a wicket with a slip catch, but Naim Sheikh couldn’t hold on to it.

The game experienced a brief interruption after five overs due to a floodlight issue. However, it resumed about 20 minutes later, and Pakistan openers adopted a more aggressive approach.

Bangladesh finally found success in the tenth over when Fakhar departed for 20 runs off 31 balls, with the team’s score at 35 runs. Pakistan captain Babar Azam then joined Imam at the crease.

Babar contributed to the run chase, scoring 17 runs off 22 balls before getting bowled by Taskin with the team’s total at 74 runs. Mohammad Rizwan replaced him and, together with Imam-ul-Haq, instilled confidence in Pakistan’s victory bid. Imam was dismissed for 78 runs from 84 balls, with Pakistan at 159 runs.

Rizwan ensured Pakistan’s victory and finished unbeaten, partnering with Agha Salman.

Pakistan secured a seven-wicket victory, with Haris Rauf earning the ‘Player Of The Match’ award for his excellent performance, taking four wickets while conceding just 19 runs in his six-over spell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button