Bangladesh Cricket

BCB announces squad for New Zealand ODIs

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has officially unveiled the squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against New Zealand. Captain Shakib Al Hasan and the seasoned batsman Mushfiqur Rahim have been granted a well-deserved rest for this series, with opener Liton Kumar Das stepping up as the team’s captain in Shakib’s absence.

BCB revealed the lineup for the first two ODIs of the series late Saturday night, announcing the return of two former national team captains and experienced batsmen, Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah Riyad. In addition to Tamim and Mahmudullah’s comeback, star opener Soumya Sarkar and wicketkeeper-batsman Kazi Nurul Hasan Sohan have also been added to the squad for the New Zealand series.

The series may also see the debut of left-handed batsman Zakir Hasan, spinner Rishad Hossain, and pacer Syed Khaled Ahmed. However, opener Naeem Sheikh, middle-order batsman Afif Hossain, and Shamim Hossain have missed out on selection for the New Zealand series due to their underwhelming performances in the Asia Cup.

The thrilling three-match series is scheduled to take place on September 21, 23, and 26 at the iconic Mirpur Sherebangla National Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh squad for first two ODIs: Liton Kumar Das (captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque Bijay, Tawhid Hriday, Mahmudullah Riyad, Kazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanjid Hasan Shakib, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain and Syed Khaled Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button