India announced the Asia Cup team

South Asia’s most prestigious tournament Asia Cup is going to be held in United Arab Emirates on August 27. The Board of Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the team ahead of that tournament.

The selectors had to think hard to announce the team because of the injured players. Because the team’s most reliable bowler Jasprit Bumrah could not recover from a back injury. As a result, Bumrah was naturally left out of the team. Another pacer Harshal Patel also dropped due to injury. In the absence of Bumrah and Harshal, the Indian team has three recognized pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Abesh Khan. Pace bowling all-rounder Hardik Pandya is with him.

Meanwhile, the relief news is that Virat Kohli has returned to the team and Lokesh Rahul has recovered from injury. The Indian vice-captain was due to recover from the injury and was scheduled to play in the T20 series against the West Indies but fell ill with the coronavirus. However, an out-of-form Kohli was rested from the West Indies tour.

India will start the Asia Cup with a match against arch-rivals Pakistan on August 28 in Dubai. Their other opponents in the group will come from the qualifiers.

India Squad in Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnu, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Akshar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button