Bangladesh Cricket

Shanto set make ODI captaincy debut

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named Najmul Hossain Shanto as the 16th captain for Bangladesh’s One-Day International (ODI) cricket team. Shanto is set to lead the squad in the final match of the three-game ODI series against New Zealand, scheduled for September 26th at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

Currently, New Zealand holds a 1-0 lead in the series, having secured an impressive 86-run victory over the home team in the second ODI. The opening match of the series had to be abandoned due to adverse weather conditions.

In a bid to bolster the squad’s performance, Bangladesh has introduced several key changes to the roster. The returning players include Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam, all of whom were rested for the first two games.

This ODI series serves as Bangladesh’s final opportunity to fine-tune their team ahead of the ICC World Cup. Notably, Mahmudullah’s standout performance in the second game against New Zealand, where he contributed with an impressive 49 runs, has raised speculation about his inclusion in the 15-member World Cup squad.

Mahmudullah had been absent from the ODI lineup since the home series against England. However, he seized the moment and showcased brilliant form. His partnership in the second game and his intent to perform well, despite the extended break of six to seven months, caught the eye of team management. Mahmudullah’s exceptional fielding further solidified his case for inclusion.

Commenting on Mahmudullah’s resurgence, Tamim, Bangladesh’s captain, praised his performance, stating, “He (Mahmudullah) was outstanding, displaying unwavering intent. He didn’t seem like a player returning after a lengthy hiatus. His form was impeccable, and his commitment to the game was evident in his fielding. Personally, I believe he excelled.”

Bangladesh Squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan
Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hassan Miraz,
Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button