Fortune Barishal wins the BPL title for the first time ever

FC Bayern München’s Facebook post created a furore among Bangladeshi Cricket fans today since the famous German club showed interest in the Bangladesh Premier League. This incident gave the Bangladeshi cricket community a glimpse of happiness since the Bangladesh Premier League was grappling with many other newly started franchise leagues due to various reasons. It felt like the BPL was losing its colour day by day.


However, this edition made some notable amendments – like arranging the DRS system from the beginning of the season. Prominent foreign players like Babar Azam, Moeen Ali, Will Jakes, David Miller, James Neesham, Mohammad Rizwan, and Keshab Maharaj played in this edition. However, we saw players like AB De Villiers, Chris Gayle, David Warner, Steve Smith, and Brandon McCullam before. But still, this season was better in some other aspects as well, especially Fortune Barishal winning the title for the first time.


Throughout 10 seasons of BPL, 3 teams represented the division of Barishal. Barishal Burners played in the first two editions and even was the runners-up of the first edition – back in 2012. Barishal Bulls made an appearance in the 3rd and the 4th editions of the magazine Bangladeshi domestic tournament. Interestingly, Comilla Victorians – the most successful team in BPL earned their first title against the team of Barishal and Fortune Barishal faced Comilla in the final of the 8th edition. Tonight Fortune Barishal – a team representing the coastal city since 2022 defeated the same Comilla Victorians to win their ever BPL final.

After winning the toss, Tamim Iqbal’s Barishal sent Comilla to set a target. However, thanks to an early collapse of the top-order the four-time champions stopped at 154 runs. Mahidul Islam Ankon scored the top run among his teammates which is 38 runs of 35 balls. But a poor strike rate of 108.57 might have upset him as well. Jaker Ali scored 20 runs which is the third-highest score among Victorians this evening despite he batted at a strike rate of merely 86.95! Subsequently, Andre Rusell’s firing inning of 27 runs of just 14 balls helped Comilla to cross the mark of 150. Taijul Islam was the most economical bowler from his side giving 20 runs after fulfilling his quota, but got no wicket. His teammate Kiwi cricketer James Fuller took the most wickets (2) despite having an economy rate of 10.75.


On the other hand, Fortune Barishal got a flying start with the 76 runs opening partnership between Tamim Iqbal and Mehidy Hasan. Tamim was bowled by English all-rounder Moeen Ali after scoring 39 of 26 balls. Miraz had to return to the pavilion soon after as Moeen got another victim on his very next over. Subsequently, Kyle Mayers and Mushfiqur built another solid partnership of 59 runs taking their team another step closer to victory. Mustafizur took both of their wickets later although it was too late by then. Mahmudullah and David Miller kept their nerves tight and ensured the victory with a boundary that came from the bat of the South African batter. 


Let’s end this article with another fact – this was the first time Comilla lost a final. Meanwhile, Tamim Iqbal is still unbeaten in the BPL final and his companions – Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur- also won their first BPL title.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button